Raw, Vegan Chocolate Ice Cream: Part I

Homemade, Vegan Raw Ice Cream

This recipe is part of Penny Wise Platter Thursday over at The Nourishing Gourmet

This raw, vegan  ice cream recipe was my go-to summer concotion this year, inspired by the recipes of the raw food diet. I’m not 100% raw (although I am about 85-90% these days), but I enjoyed this vegan dessert very much when I was still doing sweets.

Right now I’m enjoying my raw green smoothies about 3-4 times a week. This provides sweetness. However I am still drinking my tea unsweet and not indulging in any sweet desserts. I’m only “breaking” my rule on my green smoothies to get more raw greens in my body. I will cut down , though, and start making large salads for lunch and dinner to get the same amount of raw vegetables without the sweet taste.

For those who like to enjoy their sweets moderately, then this vegan ice cream is for you. I still want to work it out so that it is *perfect*, but so far, it’s still good. You can use carob instead of the cocoa, if you desire, to have that malty, chocoalty taste without the caffeine or oxaletes presented in the cocoa. This ice cream recipe is nutritious and satisfying. Make it for yourself and find out.

Raw Chocolate Ice Cream Recipe

1 cup homemade coconut milk
1/2 cup almond milk
1/4 tsp. Guar Gum (vegan version) OR 1 Organic Egg Yolk
1 tsp. Vanilla Extract

2 tsp. chia seeds, soaked in 1/4 cup water
2 TBSP. cocoa or carob powder
1 Medium avocado
1 small banana
1/8-1/4 tsp. pure stevia extract
1/8 cup xylitol or coconut sugar
1-2 tbsp. raw honey (if omitting, increase xylitol/coconut sugar to 1/4 cup, or to desired sweeteness)
Cinnamon
100% dark chocolate bar, broken into chunks (optional)

Blend coconut milk, almond milk, guar gum or egg yolk and vanilla together for about 20 seconds in blender. Add chia seeds and blend well until seeds are broken down and mixture is emulsified.

Add cocoa powder, avocado, banana and sweeteners. Blend on high speed for 30 seconds or more to make sure everything is well blended and broken down.

Freeze in ice cream maker and make according to manufactures directions. Or, freeze in a plastic container and blend in blender every 2 hours. Thaw for 30 minutes before serving, or until soft. Garnish with cinnamon (to lower blood sugar levels and increase antioxidants) and/or dark chocolate chunks.
___________________________________________________________________________________________

I like to blend in cinnamon to this ice cream to help bring down my blood sugar after ingesting the sugar from the banana or the honey (which I rarely add). Experiment with this recipe and see if it works for you. You might need to adjust the sweetness to your level of taste. Test taste it before freezing to make sure.

Until next time, this is The Healthy Advocate.

By the way, if you like this recipe, please share below using the social media icons. Tweet it, stumble it and show your friends on Facebook. Thank you!

Leave a comment