Raw Pecan Pie Power Bar

Raw Pecan Pie Power Bar

This recipe is part of Pennywise Platter Thursday at the Nourishing Gourmet

I am loving the weather the past two days. Cold, cloudy and a bit rainy–it feels like winter in Texas. Now I love sunlight for its wonderful healing abilities which promote growth and life on this planet, but sometimes you just need a break from so much heat. Ever since I can remember, I’ve loved cold and rainy days, and this day is one of them.

The weather has put me in the mood for holiday cooking, or for this recipe, uncooking. Pecans remind me of Christmas every time I eat them, and they certainly did this afternoon when I put together this raw pecan pie power bar recipe.  Let me tell you, this bar tastes SO much like pecan pie, it’s ridiculous. You won’t believe how good this raw recipe is until you try it.

This nutritious bar is packed full of satiating good fat with anti-inflammatory properties to boot. They are sweetened with dates, a dried fruit. The fat and protein from the pecans will lower the glycemic index of the dates, which are quite high on their own, so use this bar as a good post-work out “pick me up”.

Raw Pecan Pie Power Bar

1/4 cup pecans, soaked and dried*
2 TBSP. dried unsweetened coconut
Pinch of Celtic Himalayan Sea Salt optional
2 soft Medjool dates, soaked for 10 minutes.

Optional Add Ins:
1 TBSP. Freshly ground Flaxseed
1 tsp. protein powder
1/2 tsp. coconut oil

Place the pecans in a food processor along with the coconut and sea salt. Pulse until a course pecan flour is made. Add the dates and any additional ingredients if desired. Pulse until a dough forms.

Shape the dough into a bar. Refrigerate or freeze until firm.

Makes 1 bar.
*Soaking nuts and seeds improves digestibility as well as increases nutritional availability. This is an optional step, if you prefer.
_________________________________________________________________________________

Stores already have all of their holiday merchandise out already. I love the holiday season! In the car this morning I was listening to a “LUX Radio Theater” movie from the 1940s. Can you guess what it was? I’ll tell you anyway – The Miracle on 34th Street. I believe it’s safe to say that I’m already in the holiday spirit. It’s something I look forward to all year long.

Hopefully this raw recipe will inspire you to get into the spirit also. Even if it doesn’t, it’s still a nourishing way to provide energy and satiation. It is small, but will keep your stomach satisfied for a couple of hours. It’s also a fairly simple recipe, and requires little time to prepare. Your taste buds, and your health, will thank you for making this.

Until next time, this is The Healthy Advocate.

If you enjoyed this raw recipe and my post, please share with others with the icons below. Thank you!

2 responses to “Raw Pecan Pie Power Bar

  1. brandon,
    these look wonderful! i’ve been stoking myself up to making my own version of larabars lately, and this seems like just the recipe!
    have you ever used date paste? i just bought a fat jar on a whim and wondered if you had any recipes for it.
    peace,
    liz

    • I haven’t used date paste Liz, but I know how to make it from fresh dates. I will have to think of something in which I can use it. You know, I forgot to say in the post that this recipe was also inspired by the Larabar “Pecan Pie” bar. I like making it with ingredients I buy in the bulk section, so I won’t have plastic wrappers to throw away.

Leave a Reply

